A Love Letter to Google Calendar

If you know me, you know that I am always looking for a plan. Planning provides comfort to me, I like knowing all of the details of things, what’s going on, when it is, etc. By nature I frequently use a notebook style planner to organize all of my homework assignments by day and by class period. But, my favorite planning device has got to be Google Calendar.

Google Calendar is easily the superior online calendar program out there. What’s most beneficial about it is the fact that you can access your calendar anywhere and on any device. While it’s nice that my iPhone comes with a calendar app already installed and ready to use, I can’t access anything Apple related on my school computer. During the day at school I’m constantly adding events to my calendar, checking what’s going on this week, and often letting others know when events are too. If I was an Apple Calendar user the only way I could access what I needed would be through my phone which -guess what- I can’t use at school.

Another thing that’s phenomenal about Google Calendar is that I can view other calendars made by other people, and create separate calendars that I can choose whether or not I want to view at any given time. For example, the City High Band program has a calendar that I’ve added to my main calendar page with every big band event going on. It’s extremely convenient to have because if dates change I know they’ll be updated for me and I don’t have to worry that I’ve entered in a date or time wrong. Same thing with jazz band. If I can’t remember which days we have a rehearsal, I can check the Jazz Ensemble calendar and immediately find out.

Lastly, for all my color-coding lovers out there, Google Calendar has tons of different colors to use for either different calendars or different events within the same calendar. I don’t personally use them very often but I know people who do and they absolutely love it. Google Calendar is truly great, and even after I no longer have a school district email, I’ll definitely be using it in the future.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started